Happy Quilt II-much more fun

14 08 2015

Surprise, surprise. . . . I just can’t stop playing with these bright, bold, geometric fabrics that I first began to put together when taking the Freddy Moran Parts Department class  (see previous post about the Happy Quilt).

 

So I made Happy Quilt II, because I still had more of these strata leftover (hooorrraaaaaay for leftovers!!).  And the yellow background fabric in this quilt in between the rows of strips reminds me of another quilt of mine, Yellow Rows of Seven.

When I started quilting a thousand years ago, people did not favor yellow and orange, thinking they were too bold and difficult to work in with other colors.  So it feels as though I have come full circle now, loving yellow and orange equally with all the other colors.

Happy Quilt II, 2015 60" x 74" Photography by Sibila Savage

Happy Quilt II, 2015
60″ x 74″
Photography by Sibila Savage

And I had fun doing a very simple quilting pattern on this quilt.  Seems as though “simple” is my only style these days.

Happy Quilt II, detail

Happy Quilt II, detail

And stay tuned.  I am pretty sure that I am not finished with this “Happy” phase.  Guess it’s a series.

Here’s an option for another, although I’m not completely satisfied with it yet.  Must by why it’s not finished yet.

Happy work in progress

Happy work in progress

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 08 2015
Sharon Cohen

Wow Susan, there are wonderful. Helps to put me in a happy place. Thank you. Sharon

14 08 2015
Mamifleur

Beautiful sewing , modern quilt !

14 08 2015
Pepper Sbarbaro

You are amazing. I’m working on my brothers quilt in stripes. Fun to do, challenging, etc. I should have part of quilt top done to bring to quilt group at Giny’s this month on Wed Aug 26th. See you then.

I will bring back you books I borrowed to the meeting. Thanks for the ideas and the support. Love you happy quilt. The background fabric is perfect for the colors and geometric design fabric. WOW!

Hugs, Pepper

16 08 2015
HCALL@aol.com

Such fun and cheer. S

Leave a Reply

