All plaids

4 10 2013

Let’s start a waaaay long time ago, back to the days when I was just beginning to understand how to work with patterns and prints, using Roberta Horton’s book Calico and Beyond: The Use of Patterned Fabric in Quilts as a guide.  One of my first projects was the challenge of using only plaids.  I have found that setting limitations sometimes stimulates my creativity;  I want to solve the puzzle.  Here is an example of this quest.

Now, when I see this older piece, recently beautifully photographed, I see all the fabrics from which I made shirts for my husband and for myself—some are lovely pima cottons from Britex.   Some of you may remember when gingham was 100% cotton—the good old days.

And here are these fabrics, all fitting together in a quilt for a Raggedy Andy.

Raggedy Andy, 1989 29.5" x 29.5" Photography by Sibila Savage

Raggedy Andy, 1989
29.5″ x 29.5″
Photography by Sibila Savage

The details shows that this was made during the time when I was still hand quilting my pieces.

45_RaggedyAndy_2

Now let’s jump forward 20 years to see how these plaids are still a fun part of what I do.

These two quilts, one finished and one still in progress, are made from the leftovers from an unfinished project I started in a Rebecca Rohrkaste workshop.  The original project just did not want to get finished, so I re-purposed the fabrics into two smaller works.  I still love the colors, and all the activity in the plaids.

All Plaids, 2009 42" x 44" Photography by Sibila Savage

All Plaids, 2009
42″ x 44″
Photography by Sibila Savage

A Flying Geese work-in-progress.  I love this one much more than the first, and I think it will be a wonderful quilt when finished.

IMG_0148

Click here for Super Triangles with more plaids.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 10 2013
Deanna Davis

Susan Loving your memory lane series and how it’s getting us to where you are now! Deanna

10 10 2013
Katie

That book and then the class with Roberta Horton was “life changing” for me. I still miss her fabrics and see some of my favorites in your quilts. Learned so much from that experience.

Leave a Reply

