Vintage Log Cabin Quilt

28 06 2013

A vintage quilt from my collection, this Log Cabin quilt shows the quintessential Barn Raising layout for the log cabin blocks.

This wonderful quilter has found a way to incorporate many, many fabrics that one initially would assume could not fit into this color palette, such as the greens, oranges, and yellows, as well as the dancing brown-and-white diagonal check.

The quilt as a whole reads pink and burgundy, and the addition of all these other sparkles makes it a much more complex and interesting work.

07-Dague_4-2013medVintage Log Cabin           75″ x 75″                  Photograhy by Sibila Savage

The detail view shows the bold colors, as well as the (for me) fun vintage fabrics.

07-Dague_4-2013_2Vintage Log Cabin, detail

Since many vintage quilts that I love have been an inspiration for my own work, I know that I have wanted to make one of these very, very traditional quilts myself, using my colors and fabrics.

After taking the foundation piecing class from Jane Hall and Dixie Haywood at the Houston festival, I learned all the techniques for executing such a project efficiently, but I have yet to start on such an adventure.

Still deciding whether to make the Barn Raising set or to try the more complicated Pineapple variation.  Hmmmmmm. . . . .

____________________

Callback to a previous post about “mistakes”:

Here’s an excerpt from Richard Diebenkorn’s Notes to myself on beginning a painting, seen at the current exhibit at SF’s DeYoung:

“Mistakes can’t be erased but they move you from your present position.”

Yup.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

