Red Baskets, a vintage quilt

31 05 2013

I know I have written this a thousand times, but I just LOVE this quilt.  Perhaps the key is that it is RED.

I found this quilt top on a trip to the quilt festival in Houston in 1995, and the sales tag indicated that it was made in Ponca City, Oklahoma.  Barbara Brackman’s Encyclopedia calls this block Unnamed Basket. This seems too vague for such a powerful form, but then I couldn’t come up with anything more creative either, so I kept it simple.03-Dague_4-2013med

Red Baskets                     69″ x 82″           Photography by Sibila Savage

Since I loved this top so much, I sent it off to Quilting Plus for hand quilting right away.  They did a wonderful job.

Here are some detail photos showing the great vintage fabrics.  Click on any photo for and enlarged view.

03-Dague_4-2013_3

03-Dague_4-2013_2

Red Baskets was featured in Mary Mashuta’s book Cotton Candy Quilts, which also includes a pattern for the block.

I also made a copy of this quilt for Mary’s book.  I used the foundation piecing technique, making the blocks in a manner similar to Fan Block construction.  For my small quilt, I wanted to use as many original vintage solids as I could find in my collection, as well as some of my favorite vintage fabrics and feed sacks.  This piece was both hand and machine quilted.

01-scan-Dague_2-2012medRainbow Baskets, 2000           33.5″ x 34″           Photography by Sibila Savage

01-scan-Dague_2-2012med_3

Rainbow Baskets, detail

And while I was photographing the top for my journal, Maggie got in the picture, too.

Maggie_and_quilt_3

Actions

Information

One response

5 06 2013
Sonia Callahan

Whaat a sweet picture of Maggie. I like your piece better than the original.

Leave a Reply

