Yellow Rows and a wedding quilt

18 01 2013

As previously confessed, my favorite design source is vintage quilts.  I saw this beauty for sale on eBay, and loved it right away.  Not a great photo, but you get the idea.

Quilt_011813_50percent

Since I had found at an antique store a box containing about billion 2″ squares of vintage fabrics, I realized immediately that this pattern would be a perfect use for those squares, and I added many, many more patches from my own collection.   I used yellow because it was the best color from my vintage solids collection, and I had enough to make the quilt just this big.

Here is my version.

Yellow Rows of Seven

04-Dague_12-2012med

Yellow Rows of Seven, 2012       66.5″ x 77.5″     Photography by Sibila Savage

I started sewing these squares together at a retreat last January, and continued sewing the various patches whenever I felt like mindlessly sewing.  I liked the solid patch between the columns better than the strip of fabric used in the original.    This was tons of fun to make.

04detail-Dague_12-2012med

The quilting took forever, but I wanted it to be very simple, and that took some doing.

A wedding quilt

This may be a first for me—posting someone else’s quilt on my blog, but I could not resist.

This is a quilt my daughter Maggie made for her friends Kristin and Saja for their wedding.  She used the blues and golds they chose for their wedding colors for this gem, and I think it’s fabulous.

02-Dague_12-2012med

When I asked Maggie if she wanted me to say anything in particular about the quilt when I posted it, she told me I should say, “Look how awesome my daughter is!  Are your kids this talented? No.”  A great quilter with an equally great sense of humor–love it!

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 01 2013
Lily Pang

hi Susan,

I like your Yellow Rows of Seven better than the original design !

Lily

________________________________

18 01 2013
susandaguequilts

Thanks, Lily, I love it, too.

19 01 2013
Sonia Callahan

Wow…. the quilts are awsome and the colors are so wonderful. The yellow really sets off the rows. Maggie’s gift is wonderful too. Sonia

27 06 2014
Scrap quilts: more leftover fun | Susan Dague Quilts

[…] daughter Maggie made a quilt for her college friend Kristin (see that quilt at the bottom of this post), and she gifted me all the leftover pieced scraps, as well as some of the remaining yardage.  […]

20 02 2015
Work-in-progress; more leftover tales | Susan Dague Quilts

[…] in this fun new project.  I’m fascinated at how much this modern version reminds me of my Yellow Rows of Seven, which is all vintage […]

Leave a Reply

