From my collection, part one

7 09 2012

Having talked about ninepatches, I think it is a good time to introduce this quilt from my collection.  Please let me clarity:  my collection of vintage quilts consists only of quilt tops that I have quilted, either by hand or by machine, or that I have had hand-quilted, using the Quilting Plus group, under the expert direction of Julie Tebay.

I have been informed that quilting vintage tops destroys their historic value, and I don’t care.  I love the idea that I am completing a beloved project of a stitcher who came before me;  if it wasn’t beloved, why was the top saved?  Completing the quilts also lets me see them on my walls or use them on my beds.

Here is an excellent example of why I love these old quilt tops by unknown quilters:

Nine Patches / Red Squares
77.5″ x 83.5″
Photography by Sibila Savage

See the fabulous quilting design that Julie selected for the plain blocks;  this is the bonus view that one gets when getting up close.

Nine Patches / Red Squares, detail

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 09 2012
Marty Suess

A very energetic quilt. The photos appear to show a horizontal line of quilting. Is there also a vertical line through the 9 patches?

18 09 2012
susandaguequilts

Yes, there is a vertical line, too. Click on the detail photo and you will see a close-up image. There is also a line of quilting in the ditch between all the square blocks.

Leave a Reply

