Pyramid leftovers

10 03 2011

. . . . . the last for now . . . .

Japanese Pyramids IV, 2010

When collecting fabric for Japanese Pyramids I (see post “Recent Photo Session-Part 2”), I occasionally had to purchase a bundle of samples to get the colors I needed for the quilt.  So  when I finished both quilts I and II, I had a pile of bright samples leftover, the ones that did not fit into the palettes of either quilt.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Japanese Pyramids V, 2010

I tried several times to give away these pieces to friends, but there were no takers.  Then, during a fabric stash purge, I decided not to part with the fabrics, and realized that although they did not coordinate with the colors of the original palettes, they might coordinate with each other.  On a wonderful sewing retreat in Tahoe with a friend, the new bright triangles made these two small quilts.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

To differentiate them from each other I added a new (for me) quilting pattern to one of the pair.

Detail-Japanese Pyramids V, 2010

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………It  continues to be hard for me to throw away the leftovers from any of my previous projects.  I know I walk the fine line between collecting and hoarding, but . .

Photography by Sibila Savage
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

