Japanese Pyramids III, a more recent work

8 03 2011

Japanese Pyramids III, 2010

There are just a few more, mostly very recent.  I thought that I was finished with this pattern for a while, and then it made a resurgence, in the form of this work and two others.

Exhibited in EBHQ’s Voices in Cloth 2010 Show, this quilt was made from a stack of fabric samples, no two the same.  This batch of fabric offered me an immediate challenge, the kind of puzzle I love to solve:  Will I be able to get all these fabrics in the same quilt in a pleasing way ???

I adjusted the size of the triangle to maximize the number of blocks I could cut from each piece of fabric, thus determining the size of the quilt.  At times, working on this quilt was a strain on the eyes.  I blinked often, so as to continue to keep my eyes in focus.  The quilt finally worked best when I added the three solids.  They seemed to stop the eyes from spinning around the quilt forever.  The final touch to hold it all together was the addition of the outer borders, very dark indigo, capable of stabilizing the piece.

Detail-Japanese Pyramids III, 2010

I am often asked how I choose the quilting style for my works that have sooooo much pattern going on in them.  Truthfully, it almost doesn’t matter how they are quilted.  I am a fan of efficiency, and I’d rather not spend time and effort on quilting that cannot be seen.  Look carefully at this detail (and even click to enlarge) and see how difficult it is even to find the quilting.

Your space-out activity of the day: Click on the large photo, stare at it, and see if you think it vibrates.  Our eyes are amazing.

Photography by Sibila Savage

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 03 2011
Jan Krentz

Awesome, Susan! I also have a collection of these fabrics! having lived in Japan at one time long ago, the Japanese style intrigues me. Great quilt!

10 03 2011
carolyn

love this one…I’ve been wanting to use some indigo blues.

5 04 2011
Paul

So great. Should hang in a museum.

Leave a Reply

