The Halloween quilts are gone

30 09 2009

September 29th was the great Halloween quilt giveaway, and I was pleased to see them go to such a good cause, happy to have piles of quilts out of my dining room, and a smidge sad to say goodbye to them.  Yet, there seems to be something fulfilling in making quilts that are given to people to use and love.  But I have gotten ahead of myself.

The History:

The Children’s Quilt Project, a service group within my larger quilt guild East Bay Heritage Quilters, collects donated fabrics and uses that fabric to make quilts to donate to various community outreach groups. See EBHQ for details.  I work with that group to organize fabric and to make quilt kits for guild members to sew.

Last year a massive donation of conversation print fabrics was made, and I started looking at the Halloween fabric, since I was making a Halloween quilt of my own at the time.  I was given the two boxes of fabric to make into kits, and the craziness that became an obsession began almost immediately.   Piles of fabrics that look like this were quite irresistible:

Halloween fabric pic

And then I found that making the kits was just not enough.  I had to see how the quilt tops would look when they were sewn.  Which of course led to wanting to see what the quilts would look like when quilted and finished.

(Am I the only one whose brain is overtaken by such craziness which seems to me like such a good idea at the time???????)

The Present:

During October, I will post photos of  some of these quilts, although the photo quality is definitely not professional.    I took shots in my studio , sometimes with just my phone, to document these works when it became obvious that the group of quilts was getting huge.  Twenty-eight quilts left my house on Tuesday, and I have only a few more here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

