Wheel Medallion sneak peek

18 04 2014

Finished days before it was to be displayed  at my guild’s Voices in Cloth 2014 quilt show late last month, my Wheel Medallion has been one of my most challenging endeavors in recent times.

Having taken a class with Becky Goldsmith of Piece o’ Cake fame, I felt I was much more able to execute this applique technique.  So I incorporated the applique border into a medallion quilt I had been struggling with working on.

Not yet photographed professionally, this quilt can only be seen in these partial shots for now.

Wheel3

Stay tuned for a better picture of the complete quilt.

wheel2

I love the result, and this quilt already has a cousin under construction, using all of the leftover pieces that did not fit into the design of this quilt.  So stay tuned for that, too.

 

And, on a recurring note, I am finding that I have not yet shaken the fabric postcard bug.

These are a particular favorite here where I live:

bears cards

 

And these were made for a friend’s Cinco de Mayo-themed engagement party:

Cinco de Mayo cards

I will probably keep doing these wonderfull little gems, just because they are soooo fun (and are completed sooooo quickly).

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 04 2014
Judy

love the heart and the cross . . .

18 04 2014
susandaguequilts

Me, too, and easily made from a fabulous Alexander Henry fabric.

18 04 2014
Lily Pang

love your Medallion quilt but love the postcards, too – especially the GO BEARS  are you still using the preprinted postcard lettering on the back of each postcard?

________________________________

18 04 2014
susandaguequilts

Yes, Lily, I am, because I am still giving these as a small appreciation to those who make donations to the Guild. Only about 20 left. Fabric was a scrap at a thrift store.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

