Grandmother’s Flower Garden

1 11 2013

Here’s another of the “vintage” fabric quilts, but this one was not a top that I purchased;  it started as a small pile of finished blocks and scraps found at an antique store.  By the time I came across these beauties, I also had a small collection of vintage fabrics, so I hand pieced many more, enough to make a quilt.

This quilt was hand quilted by Quilting Plus and they did a wonderful job.

Grandmother's Flower Garden, 1993 72" x 79.5"

Grandmother’s Flower Garden, 1993
72″ x 79.5″

I can identify the blocks that I made from the different yellow in the centers.  I could not find an exact match, and had to settle for a duller, paler hue.  Most of the other solids are vintage.

The red block was in the original set I purchased.  Even though it stands out so dominantly, I just had to include it.  Love the scrappy look!!

Grandmother's Flower Garden, detail

Grandmother’s Flower Garden, detail

I remember piecing them together into the top while on vacation at a friend’s cabin in Tahoe, along with very young children.  It was a relaxing time.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 11 2013
Pepper

This quilt is stunning. Thanks for sharing it and how it was made. Pepper

9 11 2013
susandaguequilts

Happy you like these, too. We should have a trunk show sometime, so you can see them in person.

3 11 2013
Marty Suess

Susan – I found a finished top of this design in my mother’s closet in the 1990′s. It was hand pieced with 1/8th inch seams by the mother of my mother’s college roommate during her freshman year at the University of Nebraska. That means I can date it to 1931-32. I finished the quilt with hand quilting several years ago. Your quilt is a good reminder to unfold my quilt and use it on my bed this winter. Thanks – Marty Suess

9 11 2013
susandaguequilts

You are most welcome. I’m always pleased to hear that someone else likes these old pieces, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

