Feed Sack Log Cabin

18 10 2013

Made from another of the vintage tops I had collected, this quilt is made almost entirely of feed sack fabrics.  The red centers of the blocks give a big punch to this quilt.

Unfortunately I have no record of when I got this top;  it may be another from Eli Leon.  Regardless, I know I waited a long time before I had it quilted, and when it was finished by Nina Farrell, I saw how wonderful it really was.

Also quite wonky, this quilt’s appeal for me is not in the precision of the sewing, but in the fabric.  I know I’m nuts, but I love these old prints.

Feed Sack Log Cabin, date unknown

Feed Sack Log Cabin, date unknown

Here is a detail of the machine quilting done by Nina Farrell, who got one of these lovely flowers in each red center.

Feed Sack Log Cabin, detail 1

Feed Sack Log Cabin, detail 1

For the back of the quilt, I used feed sacks and feed sack scraps from my collection.  I tried to use the wildest prints I could find, so they could be showcased on this big back.  Click on the photos to enlarge, and also see the detail below of some of the prints–crazy, crazy stuff.

Feed Sack Log Cabin, back

Feed Sack Log Cabin, back

Feed Sack Log Cabin, detail 2

Feed Sack Log Cabin, detail 2

All photography by Sibila Savage unless otherwise noted.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 10 2013
Sonia Callahan

Hi… I can see my Aunt Lillian’s dress made from some of these fabrics. Once she had duplicate feed sacks and gave them to my Mom. Mom sewed matching dresses for us.They were a printed pink. Ahh such memories. Sonia

19 10 2013
susandaguequilts

This is so cool, Sonia, and I think I know what you mean: I can only remember two of my dresses from really young days. One was made by my Mom, along with an additional one for my sister, from two different colorways (bubble gum pink or turquoise) of the same fabric with little elephants on it. Still looking for that vintage fabric. . . .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

